Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player


DATE: 27 February 2017
TIME: 17:00-20:00


The PanSALB Multilingualism Awards were established in 2002 and are held annually. In the past years, the Multilingualism awards ceremony has grown in standard, stature and impact. The function is attended by about 600 high profile government officials, non-governmental officials, academics, partners and sponsors. Over the years organisations such as Microsoft, Nutrend, MTN and Absa have aligned themselves with the awards at various levels with gratifying input and results.

Aims and Objectives

The PanSALB Multilingualism Awards seek to:

  • promote and recognise exceptional work in the promotion of all official and other South African languages;
  • broadcast the importance of multilingualism in South Africa;
  • enhance the use of all official languages;
  • raise awareness on the role of languages in general as a uniting agent to the
  • people of the Republic of South Africa and
  • publicize the role of PanSALB in fostering the climate of equitable language
  • practice.

Awards Categories Winners for 2016/17

Music Category
For the effective use of multilingualism in an album

  • Nathi – Album: UmbuleloWam

 Language and Literature Category
This award recognises both the Written and the Oral modes of linguistic and/or literary expression. It is for individuals/writers who have contributed to the promotion and preservation of all the official South African languages i.e. Sesotho sa Leboa, Sesotho, Setswana, siSwati, Tshivenda, Xitsonga, Afrikaans, English, isiNdebele, isiXhosa and isiZulu. Khoi, Nama, San, as well as sign language.


  • Mbongeni Cyprian Nzimande for AyixoxekiNakuxoxeka Mandla Maphumulo  for InhlamvuYelanga

Sesotho sa Leboa

  • Mr DipheteBopape (Author/language activist/Editor) of Indigenous Language Newspaper - Seipone


  • Thembeka Cynthia Sesi for Isipho: Imobongo yesiXhosa volume 2 (Xhosa Edition)


  • Musa Aubrey Baloyi for ‘VutlhariByaLunya’


  • Bangani Judas Skhosana


  • Bellah Malangwane for Ematfundvuluka


  • Helena Barnard for Gramadoelas! 

Sign Language

  • Nenio Mbazima

Khoisan Language

  • Agatha Pienaar (Nama: teacher and language/cultural activist)


  • Fred Khumalo for #ZuptasMustFall, and Other Rants

Media Category
TheThethaMasombuka Award will be presented to a journalist in the print and broadcast media who contributed to the promotion and preservation of his/her mother tongue and other languages including Khoi, Nama, San, as well as sign language.
For a TV/Radio programme that seeks to promote multilingualism or any of the 11 official languages including Khoi, Nama, San, as well as sign language.
For a print publication that seeks to promote and preserve any of the 11 official languages including Khoi, Nama, San, as well as sign language.

  • Baba Mthethwa: Supersport Commentator

TV/Radio programme

  • Skeem Sam

Technology and Business Category
For the effective innovation of technology to promote multilingualism in the technology sector, including business-to-business and consumer campaigns

  • Hello South Africa APP

Government/Public Sector Category
For an effective service delivery campaign/project/programme in the public sector that seeks to promote multilingualism or any of the 11 official languages including Khoi, Nama, San, as well as sign language (national and provincial departments, local, district municipalities and constitutional bodies may enter this category).
National Departments 

  • South African Revenue Services


  • eThekwini Municipality

Education Category
Use and promotion of multilingualism in institutions of learning. This can be shown in the respective institution’s language policy, tuition material and signage in campus building/s.

  • University of KwaZulu Natal

Translation and Interpreting Category
For the individual who contributed$$ to language by way of training of interpreters and translators and /or translating seminal text for wider accessibility.

  • Natasha Parkins-Maliko

Language Activists

  • Florence Masebe for her contribution to Tshivenda
  • Mongezi Bolofo for his contribution to IsiZulu
  • Cornelius Lourens  for Afrikaans and Official Languages
  • Prof Njabulo S Ndebele

Chairperson’s Lifetime Achievement Award This is a special award that is bestowed by the Chairperson of the Board on Individuals/organisations who have excelled in the promotion and preservation of our languages.

  • Prof E’skia Mphahlele



  © 2015 • Privacy Policy